to the order of the Federal Agency for Scientific Organizations of December 19, 2016 No 675

Regulations

on the Russian Telescope Time Allocation Committee of the Federal Agency for Scientific Organizations

- 1. The Russian Telescope Time Allocation Committee of the Federal Agency for Scientific Organizations (hereinafter referred to as the Committee) is a collective body consisting of leading Russian astronomers, formed to coordinate the work of unique scientific astronomical facilities located in organizations subordinate to the Federal Agency for Scientific Organizations (hereinafter referred to as the Agency) and to provide access to them.
- 2. The Committee in its activities is guided by the Constitution of the Russian Federation, federal constitutional laws, federal laws, decrees and executive orders of the President of the Russian Federation, regulations and executive orders of the Government of the Russian Federation, regulatory legal acts of the federal executive bodies, regulatory legal acts and legal acts of the Agency, as well as by the present Regulations.
 - 3. The main purposes of the Committee are the following:

performing scientific and scientific and technical expert investigation of proposals received from astronomers from Russia and other countries to optical and radio telescopes located in the organizations subordinate to the Agency;

rating the allocation of telescope time at these telescopes taking into consideration the expert review on a competitive basis;

preparation of documents with description of instruments and the arrangements for using them in agreement with the management of organizations subordinate to the Agency, to which the telescopes belong;

approval of a proposal form and determination of the procedure for expert review of proposals for optical and radio telescopes located in organizations subordinate to the Agency.

4. In carrying out its activities, the Committee applies the following basic principles:

scientific importance and urgency of an issue;
positive decision of the technical expert investigation;
performance of ongoing and completed programs including publications;

implementation or development of newest methods and means of observations; young scientist support;

support of coordinated and multi-wave programs including international ones.

5. The Committee body is formed for a 5-year period and in the following years is subject to renewal by one third at the end of each term.

The Committee consists of the Committee Chairman, the Deputy Committee Chairman, Committee members, the Committee Scientific Secretary.

If necessary, other specialists can be involved in the work of the Committee but without vote.

The Committee Chairman and, in his absence, the Deputy Committee Chairman, provides overall guidance to the Committee and manages its work.

6. Preparation of the work of the Committee is carried out by a Scientific Secretary appointed at the first meeting of the Committee.

To manage the Committee activities, the Committee Scientific Secretary performs the following functions: collection of incoming proposals; collection of technical expert reviews; arrangement of meetings of the Committee and user conferences; Committee documentation maintenance;

scheduling observations at optical telescopes located in organizations subordinate to the Agency;

correspondence with proposers on issues within the competence of the Committee.

- 7. Meetings of the Committee are held as required but not less than twice a year.
- 8. Decisions of the Committee are made by a majority of the members of the Committee participating in an open vote and documented with minutes signed by the Chairman of the Committee or, in his absence, by the Deputy Chairman and members of the Committee.

In case of a tie, the Chairman shall have the vote casting vote right or, in his absence, the Deputy Chairman of the Committee.

- 9. The members of the Committee cannot be the principals of observation programs.
- 10. The organizational and technical support of the Committee's activities is provided by the Coordination and Management Service of Organizations in the Sphere of Science of the Agency.